Celebrating Slough’s talented young people

Published: 07 November 2017

Thursday night (2 November) saw the Slough Youth Awards return to The Curve to celebrate and recognise the impressive contributions young people have made to the Slough community.

Now in its second year, the Slough Youth Awards received more than 50 nominations for young people and groups aged 11-19 (up to 25 with learning difficulties or disabilities) who live in the borough.

This year’s ceremony was hosted by youth representatives Callum Fullam, 15, and Raakhi Sharma, 15, from Slough Youth Parliament.

Awards were presented across six categories: young artist, young environmentalist, young inspiration, young entrepreneur, young sportsperson and Slough Council for Voluntary Service (SCVS) young volunteer of the year.

Additional awards were included to mark the best of local secondary schools’ participation in the National Citizen Service (NCS) as well as the Make Your Mark consultation.

This year’s winners are:

Young sportsperson

Winner: Erin Simmonds
Runners up: Adam Azim and Hassan Azim

Young entrepreneur

Winner: Aadam Siddiqi
Runner up: Xtra Art

Young inspiration

Winner: Cameron Miller
Runners up: Aaron Sennik and Salsbeel Kazi

Young environmentalist

Winner: Louise Love

Young artist

Winner: Empoword
Runner up: Kieran Way

The winner of the young volunteer award will be announced at the voluntary sector awards on 17 November. Shortlisted nominees were announced as Denesh Pawar, Aneesa Hussain and Scott Biddle.

Councillor Madhuri Bedi, cabinet member for children, education and families, said: “This year’s Slough Youth Awards have rightly put the inspirational achievements of our young people front and centre.

“Slough’s young people continue to make an amazing contribution to our local community and I feel honoured to have been in attendance this evening.

“The young people in attendance are the bright future of our borough and I congratulate them on their tremendous efforts in improving and showcasing our town.”

The sold out crowd was treated to performances showcasing the amazing talent of local young people, including music from Beat Routes music collective, poetry from Empoword spoken word collective and a music video produced by girls from the Roma community following their work with the young people’s service.

Award presenters included interim chief executive Roger Parkin, deputy chair of the wellbeing board Naveed Ahmed, Councillor Madhuri Bedi, Councillor Sabia Hussain, head teacher Jo Rockall and representatives from award sponsors Arvato, Heathrow, Mars and Slough Urban Renewal.

The Slough Youth Awards are supported by Slough Borough Council’s Young People’s Service, Slough Youth Parliament and Slough CVS and arose from the Youth Parliament’s manifesto commitment to raise the profile of young people in a positive way by celebrating their many achievements.

For more information on Slough’s Youth Voice initiatives, email sloughforyouth@slough.gov.uk